Site Only      Catalog Only

Research Resources By Subject

 

Unless otherwise noted, all databases are accessible from your home as well as the library. At-home use may require your library card number or other log-in information. Please contact the library  for complete instructions on accessing databases remotely .

Click on the subject headings below to take you to the databases for that subject.

OR

Click here for an alphabetical listing of the databases.


   

 Automotive Repair  |  Books & Poetry  |  Business & Investing  | 
En Espanol  |  Genealogy  |  Government & Elections  | Health & Wellness  |  History & Geography  |  Homework Help  |
 Job Search  |Language Instruction  | Legal Resources |
Magazines and Periodicals  | 
Newspapers  |  Science  |  Test Preparation & Careers  |  
Texana  | TexShare Databases


Automotive Repair

Chilton Auto Repair
Chilton Library provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Services Bulletins (TSBs) for authomobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.

[Back To Top]


Books & Poetry

Book News
BookNews gives readers access to free electronic newsletters about a wide variety of books via the library's web site or delivered directly to their e-mail address.

Chadwyck-Healy 20th Century Poetry (TexShare)
Online access to great modern English and American poetry.

DearReader Online Book Club
DearReader Online Book Club delivers books electronically. Each day, Monday through Friday, the library emails subscribers a portion of a book that takes about five minutes to read.

Gale Literature Resource Center (TexShare)
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of noted authors.

NetLibrary
Ebooks and downloadable audio books are available for browsing, searching, and virtual checkout. NetLibrary eBooks are digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction, and 3,400 publicly-accessible titles. A one-time account set-up at the library is required before you can access NetLibrary remotely.

NoveList
NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 135,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists.

OCLC WorldCat (TexShare)
Comprehensive bibliography with millions of records.

Overdrive
You can check out and download the various types of digital materials.

[Back To Top]


Business & Investing


Business Resources
Provides information about learning about a business, starting or revamping a business, or going international.

Reference USA 

Reference USA Contains detailed information on over 12 million U.S. businesses and over 120 million U.S. households. Search by location, SIC code, business size, and more.


[Back To Top]


 En Espanol   

Economia y Negocios (TexShare)
More than 70,000 records, dating back to the early 1980s, provide coverage for more than 300 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere.

Fuente Academica (TexShare)
Fuente Academica� provides PDF full text for more than 330 scholarly publications covering areas of academic study. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide.

MedicLatina (TexShare)
MedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers.

Salud en Espanol (TexShare)
Consumer Health Complete in Spanish provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

[Back To Top]


 Genealogy 

Ancestry.com Available only in the library
Find your family history through billions of records including U.S. census records, birth, marriage and death certificates, immigration records, military records, directories and member lists, newspapers and periodicals, and court, land, and probate records.

Family Search
A collection of genealogical records provided by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.

Heritage Quest (TexShare)
Research materials to trace family lineage.

World Vital Records Available only in the library
Provides access to the vital records for thousands of names through thousands of databases.

[Back To Top]


Government & Elections 

Government websites
Links to various Government websites by subject.

Texas Online
The official site of the State of Texas is a portal to hundreds of state services including driver license and vehicle renewals, tax matters, public records, TollTags, and much more.


[Back To Top]


Health & Wellness 

Alt Health Watch (TexShare)
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Consumer Health Complete (TexShare)
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

EBSCO Health Source Academic Edition (TexShare)
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.

Flu Information
Find links to website for information on the flu.

Health and Wellness Resource Center (TexShare)

This database provides a one stop, full-service resource for consumers and health care professionals covering topics both in traditional medicine and alternative and complimentary therapies.

MedLinePlus
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.


[Back To Top]


History & Geography

History Database Center
History Database Center provides access to three databases: American History Online, World History, and Ancient History & Culture.

Portal to Texas History
The Portal to Texas History offers students and lifelong learners a digital gateway to the rich collections held in Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, and private collections.

The World Atlas
Filled with the most up-to-date information available, The World Atlas provides more than 1,100 clear, reproducible maps and a wealth of statistics and data on more than 280 nations, territories, regions, states, and provinces.

World History Collection (TexShare)
World History Collection offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals.

[Back To Top]


Homework Help

EBSCO Kids Search (TexShare)
EBSCO resources selected specifically for primary and middle school students.

Gale Library of Daily Life: American Civil War
Provides information on the battlefield and homefront experience, the political, economic, social, and cultural life of the North and South during the War. Primary source documents in the form of first-person accounts, letters, diaries, journals, newspapers, and literature of the Union and Confederate participants and the people they left behind.

Gale Literature Resource Center (TexShare)

Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of noted authors.

Grzimek's Animal Life
This database has more than 4,000 species categorized by Amphibians, Birds, Fish, Insects, Invertebrates, Mammals and Reptiles, including information on evolution, habitat, behavior, range and more.

MAS Ultra - School Edition (TexShare)
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines; also provides more than 350 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.

Searchasaurus (TexShare)
A kid-friendly interface to EBSCO resources for elementary school aged children.

Student Research Center (TexShare)
A search interface designed specifically for secondary school students according to their needs and search abilities. Users can easily pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search or search databases through topic headings.

World Book Online Reference Center Requires userID and password available from the library - call 972-292-5669 to obtain.
World Book Online contains all of the articles from the print version of World Book Encyclopedia plus several unique features including photos, sounds, illustrations, maps, and 360-degree views, an up-to-date full-color atlas of the world, approximately 13,000 historical articles from past World Book Year Book volumes, summaries of important current events, as well as links to relevant World Book articles and authoritative, editor-selected Web sites, and a dictionary that contains more than 248,000 definitions.
 
[Back To Top]
 

Job Search

Job Search

Links to job search and resume building websites.

Resume Maker
A step-by-step resume and letter guide that lets you save your work in a variety of formats. Also provides:
   Interview and Salary Tips - common interview questions, what employers want to know, salary information.
  Job Search Tools - search for jobs, complete forms, attach resumes. 
  Create your account to save your work and preferences.



[Back to Top]


Language Instruction


Mango Languages
Mango Languages is an online language-learning system teaching actual conversation skills for a wide variety of languages. Mango uses real-life situations and actual conversations to more effectively teach a new language. By listening to and repeating after material designed from native conversations, you'll not only learn the individual words and phrases, you'll know how they're used in practical situations and conversations. You'll learn more than grammar, vocabulary and conjugation, you'll learn how to communicate.



[Back To Top]


Legal Resources

Legal Resources
Legal resources are available in several categories, to assist you in accessing information.


Magazines & Periodicals


MasterFILE Premier (TexShare)
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,730 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.

Academic Search Complete (TexShare)
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

[Back To Top]


Newspapers

Dallas Morning News

Fort Worth Star Telegram

Frisco Enterprise

InfoTrac Custom Newspapers (TexShare)
Search newspapers from around the globe for full-text articles.

Newspaper Source (TexShare)
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 28 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

[Back To Top]


Science 

Science Online
Science Online is a complete reference database containing thousands of entries covering animal anatomy, anthropology and archaeology, astronomy and space technology, atomic physics, biochemistry, biology, botany, chemistry, computer science, earth science, environmental science, general science, genetics, health and medicine, human natomy and physiology, marine science, physics, and weather and climate.

Science & Technology Collection (TexShare)
The Science & Technology Collection� contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community.

[Back To Top]



Test Preparation & Careers

Career Information for kids from the BLS
The Bureau of Labor Statistics' web site for kids provides introductory career information for students in Grades 4-8. Most of the material on the site has been adapted from the Bureau's Occupational Outlook Handbook�a career guidance publication for adults and upper-level high school students that describes the job duties, working conditions, training requirements, earnings levels, and employment prospects of hundreds of occupations.

Collegesurfing.com
Career resources and advice as well as information and links to degree and certificate programs at hundreds of educational institutions.

Guide to Online Schools
Connects students with colleges and universities offering online degree and certificate programs. Includes  reviews by students as well as accreditation and financial aid information.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
For hundreds of different types of jobs the Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you the training and education needed,earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions.In addition, the Handbook gives you job search tips, links to information about the job market in each State, and more.

Testing & Education Reference Center with Career Center
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.

TEXES Teacher Certification Exam Prep
A free site offering preparation materials for the TEXES Teacher Certification Exam.

Vocational & Career Collection (TexShare)
Provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel & Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.


[Back To Top]


Texana 

Handbook of Texas (TexShare)
The Handbook of Texas, provided by the Texas State Historical Association is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin.

Portal to Texas History
The Portal to Texas History offers students and lifelong learners a digital gateway to the rich collections held in Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, and private collections.

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps (TexShare)
Provide digital access to thousands of large-scale maps of Texas towns and cities covering the period 1867-1970.

Texas Reference Center (TexShare)
The database is comprised of periodicals, reference books, reports, and other content relevant to the state. Texas Reference Center contains 30 full text periodicals, 100 full text reference books, several Texas newspapers, and much more.

[Back To Top]



TexShare Databases - All 
Requires userID and password available from the library - call 972-292-5669 to obtain.
The commercial databases licensed by TexShare offer authoritative, full-text articles from verifiable, subscription-only sources. Every search yields results you won't see anywhere else. TexShare databases cover areas such as General Information and Periodicals, Homework and Education, History and Genealogy, Health and Medical, Business Resources, and Books and Literature.
Find out what TexShare databases can do for you:


[Back To Top]